Oct 3, 2016 | To my friend the chocolate cake

That’s a band name.

Hey fam! So it’s been a minute since I’ve been able to really sit down and tell you all about my feelings and really vent, so I’m not gonna do that. I’ll just talk about my new area and everything that’s been going on since I left Posse!

I have made (once again) a triumphant return to the Taguatinga stake (for the third time)! Haha I’m in Samambaia 1 now, and as much as I grew to like Posse, it’s nice to have a real chapel again. My companion is Elder Cardona from Santa Maria, RS; he’s a good kid! He has lost his way a little bit recently, so we’re working to get everyone back on the right track. So now we’re working harder and things are starting to go smoother and a little happier. I had the chance to spend a lot of time with President and Sister last week and they have been helping me a ton on the importance of family (growth, strengthening our relationships and testimonies, keeping covenants, etc.)  and leading by example. Good stuff, we have been able to apply it all in our work. So we’re working to understand the importance of separating a social visit and a spiritual visit- the social visits give us the members’ friendship, but a spiritual visit gives us the members’ trust, which is much more important in the work that we’re doing. We’re managing our time a little better, we’re teaching and feeling the spirit, we’re lifting, we’re having fun! Which is good, doing the right thing is the best way to be happy.

“Although I may not be my brother’s keeper, I am my brother’s brother; and ‘because I have been given much I too must give.'” -Elder Holland

I started teaching English classes, which is something I have never done and/or wanted to do… But it has been a ton of fun! We were able to meet an older lady named Isabel and her husband Germano. They’re very catholic, but very open to hear what we have to say as well! They went to Conference with us yesterday and loved it! They’re just happy people that want to do what God asks, we’re grateful to be working with them. Both of their kids live in the US and have already met with missionaries (it’s been a few years but it counts) and they had a Book of Mormon already! Well they thought they did… we’ll give them a new one.

We have two baptisms this weekend as well! Raquel and Rosita have been going to church for a super long time and were never baptized because they needed the invite, so now they have one. And they’re getting dunkitated! We’re working with their parents Fabiano and Sandra to get married, they’re a nice family.

CONFERENCE was awesome!!! I don’t have my notes with me, and even if I did I would have to translate them. I learned a lot this weekend, and I hope and pray that yall had the opportunity to receive some personal revelation to better your lives. Something that really stuck out to me was in Elder Bassett’s talk during the Saturday afternoon session. During these last 3 or 4 months I have become super stressed over things that are usually out of my control. Elder Bassett (from what I understood) talked about just that. He said (in a copy and pasted short summary):

[Our] actions can lead us to seek after things that are not necessarily meant to be understood at this time, all the while ignoring the beautiful truths that are meant for us and our circumstances—the truths Nephi described as written for our learning and profit. …Nephi’s example of seeking knowledge included (1) a sincere desire, (2) humility, (3) prayer, (4) trust in the prophet, and an exercise of (5) faith, (6) diligence, and (7) obedience. …Faith and trust in the Lord require us to acknowledge that His wisdom is superior to our own. We must also acknowledge that His plan provides the greatest potential for spiritual development and learning.We were never expected “to have a perfect [understanding] of things” during this mortal existence. Instead, we are expected to “hope for things which are not seen, which are true” [Alma 32:21]. …As we acknowledge that we are the workmanship of a wise and devoted Father in Heaven, “O then,” why not allow Him to guide our spiritual development and learning “according to his will and pleasure” rather than our own? [Jacob 4:9].

In short, I really needed that.

I love you all! Peace be the journey

Leave a comment